Saturday Extra

“Vocabulary knowledge is not something that can ever be fully mastered; it is something that expands and deepens over the course of a lifetime.” —Steven Stahl

Although I have been incredibly busy with the start of a new school year, I have been able to continue to post Monday through Friday as I promised. I wish more of my posts could be of deeper, more meaningful content, but I feel I am touching on vocabulary issues most of the time.

Next week we will be learning about homographs; words that are spelled the same, but have completely different meanings, for example “bat.” It can be a flying mammal, a stick used in baseball, or to swing at something. Homographs have a subcategory called heteronyms; these words are also spelled the same, with completely different meanings, but they also have different pronunciations, for example “dove.” “Dove” when pronounced duv is a bird, but when pronounced with a long “o” it is the past tense of “dive.” The word “bow” is both a homograph (something for your hair and something for shooting arrows) and a heteronym (bending forward in respect). Our language has so many FUN quirks!

My first freebie contains regular homographs. It is an activity my third graders enjoy. Younger students may be able to do this, and older ones would still enjoy it. The second one is of heteronyms. This is a trickier activity. I put the easier ones first. I would not do this activity with my students until the end of the year, and then I’d probably only use the easier words. (Maybe a few kids could be challenged by the harder ones.) Fourth and fifth graders would enjoy this activity.

Fun with Homographs pdfs

For more fun vocabulary ideas visit my TpT store.

Enjoy your weekend. I’ll see you on Monday.

Ann

One thought on “Saturday Extra

Leave a Reply

