Getting It Right

“A writer is unfair to himself when he is unable to be hard on himself.” —Marianne Moore

My daughter Beth has always been interested in reading and writing. She taught herself to read at age 5. My only assistance to the process was the sheer volume of read alouds in her life. (She and her brother were allowed to pick out a stack of picture books no higher than the cushions on the couch for our day’s reading.) At age 8 or 9 she had a notebook where she kept lists of characters, settings, and topics for future writing. For her college entrance application she wrote the optional essay, instead of just listing her activities.

Beth has always set big goals for herself, then worked hard to meet them. I am so proud of her and her creative, adventuresome spirit. She inspires me to try to bring her level of enthusiasm to my students.

If/When you have a product that needs an additional reading, consider asking for her professional help. I am sure she will provide you the excellent service you need. Please check her out at The Revisionary! Any written work can benefit from a second set of eyes because we become emotionally attached to the material and because we know what it should say, so we mistakenly think that it is as clear to others as it is in our own minds.

  • Beth offers proofreading, copyediting, and more in-depth editing.
  • Her rates are very reasonable. For proofreading: $4 per 250 words. All rates are listed on the website.
  • Her variety of experience and a sample portfolio can also be found on the website.
  • Her education includes a Masters in Education from Loyola University Maryland (2006) and a certificate from the Professional Sequence in Editing through UC Berkeley (2012).
  • Contact Beth at www.therevisionary.com and by email at elizabeth@therevisionary.com.

Wednesday’s Word of the Day

Student page for words 6 – 9

More words are available at my TpT store.

I am headed off for a wedding for a week. I have word cards ready, but may not have access to the internet. I will be at my 88-year-old mother’s home. I will post when I can.

Ann

Leave a Reply

