4-14-40 Method

“Whoever said money can’t buy happiness simply didn’t know where to go shopping.” —Bo Derek

Robert Marzano, a guru of vocabulary instruction, tells us that the bright kids need about 4 exposures to a word to own it, average students need about 14, and our struggling students need at least 40. How can we expose our students to words this often? There are so many words and there is never enough time.

My friend and teammate, Linda, suggested she would use my Word of the Day cards as a challenge each day. After spending a few minutes to discuss the word, she is planning to reward children for a correct use of the WoD either orally or in writing throughout the day. This sounds like fun and reminds me of a very old game show.

I am including a fun partner game for vocabulary practice. This would also be useful in small groups. It gives the students many opportunities to use and learn new words.

Vocabulary Cubes pdf

Directions for Vocabulary Cubes:

Choose 6 words that the students need to practice. Students write the six words in random order on their paper and do not share the order with the others.

Each group needs two dice. The roll of the first die determines which word will be used. The roll of the second die determines which strategy the student will use to share the word. The other student(s) try to determine which word is being presented.

I have joined a linky party to show what I am excited to buy from TpT with the big sale on Sunday and Monday.

Here are several of the items:

List It Cards by Rachel Lynette

List It! Task Cards: 60 fun challenges for individual or g

Reading Skills and Strategies by Rebecca Furlan

Reading Skills and Strategies

I also have several math items because I have devoted the summer to vocabulary!

Here’s one I want:

Shapin’ Up with 3-D Shapes by Amy Lemons

Shapin' Up:  A Shape Unit with 2D and 3D Shapes

Remember the big sale on Sunday and Monday!

BTS 12

I hope to see you there!

Ann

9 thoughts on “4-14-40 Method

  1. Oh boy. Looks like I am “that kid.” I don’t understand how to play the game, again. Why are there dice on the page? I think I need more directions.

  2. Pingback: A Saturday Freebie | Devoted to Vocabulary Development

  3. I love this! I can use this in my high school English class along with the close reading strategy. On first read I can have them identify the words they don’t know and we can make a list. Then divide the lists up and have them do the activity. Thanks for the cool activity!

  4. Pingback: A Saturday Freebie | Devoted To Vocabulary Development

Leave a Reply

