Scurrying to Be Ready

“Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.” —Lao Tzu

I love this quote! I can and will accomplish so much and I can and will do it in a calm and professional manner.

I feel as though a panic attack is hiding behind a corner waiting to jump out at me.

I have had such a wonderful summer creating items for Teachers pay Teachers and writing and creating for my blog. I strongly feel like this is where I belong.

Yet, school… I got my class list yesterday. I love getting my new list. I already printed their names in my near-perfect printing on the fabulous penguin name cards I made. My son hooked up all the technology in my room yesterday. Everything is getting sorted and ready. My new classroom feels like mine.

I think for the first time in my life I see teaching as a job. Something I will give my very best to, but not the only all encompassing something it has always been. I think this is healthy (except for the panic attack feelings). I can choose to find some of my own time to create and to blog. I can choose to use some of my own time to promote my products. This is similar to three years ago when I chose to find some of my own time to exercise 4–6 times a week. It has become an important habit. It has improved my quality of life greatly. I feel as though this year is a turning point.

Maybe it’s just butterflies…

So, as I am debating with myself over my “Back to School” feelings, I decided on a great Word of the Day:

debate pdf

Many Word of the Day cards and an election unit are available at my TpT store.

One thought on “Scurrying to Be Ready

  1. This is exactly what I needed to read this morning. In my fourteenth year of teaching, my focus this year is….me! I have a wonderful life outside of school, and I want to keep it. I tend to work 60 hour weeks during the school year. I love it, but I love my other life even more. But yeah, the panic attack is lurking….

Leave a Reply

