In Honor of Michael Phelps

“I think goals should never be easy, they should force you to work, even if they are uncomfortable at the time.” —Michael Phelps

In honor of Michael Phelps and, indeed, all of our fine athletes at the Olympics, I wanted to share this poster. It is available for free at my TpT store.

“You don’t understand anything until you learn it more than one way.”

So true about everything, but, of course, I am thinking of vocabulary. A word doesn’t really belong to you until you’ve experienced it in more than one context. And they need to be real contexts in the beginning, not the usual fill-in-the-blank or write a definition (that you found in the glossary, but don’t understand). I am not opposed to either activity, as long as the students have opportunities, and often, to talk about the words, to hear them used in context, to make connections to what they heard and understood. Learning new vocabulary requires conversation. And when the word comes up again, students need to be reminded of their budding friendship with the word and to be given another chance to grow the friendship!

Monday I will begin to post set 2 of my Word of the Day cards. My goal will be to post one each day Monday–Friday.

I am still learning about blogging, as my very incomplete blog testifies, but I am learning to do various things in more than one way and I am coming to understand it better each time I visit.

Ann

My fellow TpT seller and blog friend is having a celebration! She is giving away many prizes, including any one item from my store! Please visit her blog to join in the fun!

Leave a Reply

