Word of the Day: Gratitude

Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.

– John Milton

Wow, I love the vocabulary of this quote! I’ve been missing my everyday epiphanies lately. I’ve been letting busyness interfere with my joy of doing the things that keep me busy.

So let me say here, I have so many things to be grateful for.

I have a husband, who just last month, bought me a beautiful pearl  pendant and then was ready to allow the salesman to talk him into another until I let him off the hook and told him I am happy. He is always so generous in his love for me.

I have three wonderful adult children. I would like to proclaim them the best kids ever. They were always friends and unkind words were rarely spoken and never shouted in my house.

I come from an amazing, large, loving, growing family. I have 8 siblings here and 1 in heaven that are close and caring. Over 75 people can claim me as aunt. I have an 88 year old mother who is still my inspiration and my rock.

My teaching career in its thirty-fifth year is still fresh and exciting to me. I still want to create new things and have new ideas and find new ways to push kids into loving learning. I am fulfilled by knowing that they are growing under my care and that I can tell (at least for a year) I am important to their lives.

None of this was supposed to happen. I was diagnosed with bone cancer 41 years ago and given a year to live. How is it that I can forget for even a day to be thankful for all the joy that has been poured over me all these years?

Go hug someone you love!

Gratitude Word of the Day

Ann

One thought on “Word of the Day: Gratitude

Leave a Reply

